Clouds: An excuse to reflect and do nothing in a world full of the need to do everything

 

Gavin Pretor-Pinney, or as I’ve been calling him “the guy who’s as enthusiastic as me when it comes to clouds”, which is a nice change from the eye rolls I usually get, talks about the everyday beauty of the sky above and asks the question “why do clouds have such negative connotations?”

This is literally a quick post to share the video, shown previously on TED (It’s only 10 minutes long – give it a watch). I feel everyone should take on Gavin’s attitude to clouds (or should I be saying: my attitude). Since, I have downloaded the app CloudSpotter and have had my eyes constantly skyward, in an attempt to capture all the wonders of the sky. I am now also a member of the cloud appreciation society, this too is Gavin’s creation . I just cant seem to help it; clouds, weather they be (don’t excuse the pun) what we see everyday or the extraordinary are always a reminder of the worlds natural beauty:

Average Cumulus Cloud

Average Cumulus Cloud

the nostalgic, (trying to see pictures in clouds is possible one of my favourite things to do):

Shark Cloud

Shark Cloud

the out of this world:

Lenticularis

Lenticularis

is the sky falling:

Fall Streak Hole or Hole Punch Cloud

Fall Streak Hole or Hole Punch Cloud

I really could go on for ever. There are so many types some of which haven’t been classified as real types yet such as the asperatus cloud, as its a rare sight.

Asperatus Cloud

Asperatus Cloud

I know what your thinking the above cannot be real…well think again.

Mamma Cloud

Mamma Cloud

Roll cloud

Roll cloud

Lacunosus Cloud

Lacunosus Cloud

All pictures courtesy of  The Cloud Appreciation Society.

All in all I think what I am trying to get at is don’t keep your eyes to the pavement, there’s a lot to see above.

Even if its bad news.

Storm Clous over Nebraska

Storm Cloud over Nebraska

This entry was published on July 24, 2013 at 1:06 AM and is filed under Clouds, Inspired. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Clouds: An excuse to reflect and do nothing in a world full of the need to do everything

  1. Pingback: Summer Storms | It Just Dawned On Me

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 574 other followers

